Portail  Actualités de la recherche  Manifestations  Ethical Management of AI

Ethical Management of AI
&
lundi9novembre2020
mardi10novembre2020

Colloque

Ethical Management of AI

A French-American Dialogue


Presentation

 

Artificial intelligence (AI) models are now capable of collecting and analyzing enormously large datasets in ways that are challenging fundamental values embraced within Europe and the United States. Holding much promise in terms of increased productivity, efficiency, and quality time, AI programs and algorithms could function as an assistant, a peer, a manager, or even as a friend. Indeed, they might be so revolutionary that no one, regardless of whether they are consumers, citizens, patients, operators, or stakeholders, will remain unaffected.

The power of AI is such that it may jeopardize what it means to be human, whether people retain freedom of choice, and AI might reshape the relationship between humans and technology in society. The ethical issues emerging from AI are complex and quickly evolving. What follows is that identifying and implementing appropriate solutions can be difficult.

The approaches taken by France, the European Union and the United States to address these ethical issues are currently being defined and the governments are, in 2020, still considering options to maximize the potential of AI and big data while mitigating potential ethical harms.

This event is organized by the Georgia Institute of Technology, the Consulate General of France in Atlanta, the Emory University Center for Ethics, the Georgia Tech Ethics, Technology, and Human Interaction Center , the University of Nantes “Droit et Changement Social”(Law and Social Change) Research Center and DataSanté Research Program, SKEMA Business School, and French Tech Raleigh – Research Triangle, with the support of the Atlanta Office of the Cultural Services of the Embassy of France in the United States and the Office for Science and Technology of the Embassy of France in the United States.

 

 

Program

 

Monday, November 9, 2020

 

8.45 AM EST/14h45 CET : Introduction
Vincent Hommeril, Consul Général de France, Atlanta
Yves Berthelot, Vice-Provost for International Initiatives, Georgia Institute of Technology
Gregory L. Fenves, President, Emory University
Olivier Grasset, Vice-President for Research and Innovation, University of Nantes

 

9.15 AM EST/15h15 CET : Theoretical Approaches

Ethical & Legal Perspectives

Moderator : Ayanna Howard, Professor and Chair, School of Interactive Computing, Georgia Institute of Technology

US Perspective

Ethical
Paul Root Wolpe, Raymond Schinazi Distinguished Research Professor of Jewish Bioethics, Director of the Center for Ethics , Emory University

Legal
Matthew Scherer, Analytics Associate, Littler Mendelson, P.C.

French/EU Perspective

Ethical
Cédric Villani, Mathematician, Politician, Author of the Report “donner un sens à l’Intelligence Artificielle"

Legal
Célia Zolynski, Professor of Private Law, Director of the Master “Law Creation and Digital", Université Paris I, Panthéon-Sorbonne

 

10.45 EST/16h45 CET : Theoretical approaches

Regulatory & industrial perspectives

Moderator: Rachad Alao, Engineering Director, Facebook Responsible AIUS Perspective

Regulation
Elham Tabassi, Chief of Staff, Information Technology Laboratory, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Industry
Igor Jablokov, CEO, Pryon

French/EU Perspective

Regulation
Henri Verdier, Ambassador for Digital Affairs, French Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Industry
Alain Pluquet, Corporate VP Chief Data Officer, BioMérieux

 

Noon EST/18h00 CET : Conclusion for the day
Jason Borenstein, Director of Graduate Research Ethics Programs, Georgia Institute of Technology

 

Tuesday, November 10, 2020

 

8.50 AM EST/14h50 CET : Introduction
Alison Kear, Events Manager, Center for Ethics. Emory University Information about the organization of the break-out groups

9.00 AM EST/15h00 CET : Practical approaches

Privacy

Moderator : Bertrand Pailhes, Director of Technologies and Innovation, CNIL, French Data Protection Authority

US Perspective
Naomi Lefkovitz, Senior Privacy Policy Advisor, National Institute of Standards and Technology

French/EU Perspective
Thomas Clozel, Co-founder and CEO, Owkin

Trust

Moderator : William Lecat, Program Director on the Great Challenge of Automating Cybersecurity, Investment General Secretary's Office

US Perspective
Jamila Smith-Loud, Social Impact and Human Rights Research Lead, Ethical ML, Global Affairs, Google

French/EU Perspective
Emmanuel Bacry, Chief Scientific Officer Health Data Hub

Human Oversight

Moderator : Margo Bernelin, Research Fellow (CNRS) at the "Droit et Changement Social", Member of the "DataSanté" Research Program, University of Nantes

US Perspective
Francesca Rossiai, Ethics Global Leader, IBM

French/EU Perspective
Nicolas Miailhe, Founder and President, The Future Society

10.30 EST/16h30 CET : Review With Attendees

Moderator : Mélanie Graham, Professor in Ethics, SKEMA Business School

Privacy

Trust

Human Oversight

11.30 EST/17h30 CET : Conclusion & Next Steps
John Banja, Professor, Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, Medical Ethicist, Center for Ethics, Emory University
Anne-Elisabeth Courrier, Associate Professor in Law, University of Nantes, Visiting Faculty, Center for Ethics, Emory University
Rami Abi-Akl, Attaché for Science and Technology, Embassy of France in the USA, Consulate General of France, Atlanta
Pascale Beyaert, Cooperation and Cultural Attaché, Head, Office of the Cultural Services of the French Embassy in the United States, Consulate General of France, Atlanta

12.00 EST/18h00 : End

 

 

Click here to register : https://www.eventbrite.com/e/ethical-management-of-ai-a-french-american-dialogue-virtual-symposium-tickets-121545721525



Droit et Changement Social
Conférence des Doyens
Université numérique juridique Francophone
Avec le soutien du Ministère de l'Enseignement supérieur, de la Recherche et de l'Innovation.
Copyright © 2020 Portail Universitaire du droit - Tous droits réservés
Une réalisation Consultech