Portail  Recherche  Actualités  Parutions  Great Christian Jurists in Spanish History


Parution : 05/2018
Editeur : Cambridge University Press
ISBN : 978-1-1084-2807-1
Notice SUDOC

Great Christian Jurists in Spanish History

Part of Law and Christianity

Sous la direction de Rafael Domingo, Javier Martínez-Torrón

Présentation de l'éditeur

The Great Christian Jurists series comprises a library of national volumes of detailed biographies of leading jurists, judges and practitioners, assessing the impact of their Christian faith on the professional output of the individuals studied. Spanish legal culture, developed during the Spanish Golden Age, has had a significant influence on the legal norms and institutions that emerged in Europe and in Latin America. This volume examines the lives of twenty key personalities in Spanish legal history, in particular how their Christian faith was a factor in molding the evolution of law. Each chapter discusses a jurist within his or her intellectual and political context. All chapters have been written by distinguished legal scholars from Spain and around the world. This diversity of international and methodological perspectives gives the volume its unique character; it will appeal to scholars, lawyers, and students interested in the interplay between religion and law.

Contributors : Rafael Domingo, Javier Martínez-Torrón, Philip Reynolds, José Miguel Viejo-Ximénez, Joseph F. O'Callaghan, Andreas Wagner, Kenneth Pennington, Wim Decok, Benjamin Hill, Salvador Rus, Richard Helmholz, Kirk R. MacGregor, Henrik Lagerlung, Matthew C. Mirow, Jan-Henrik Witthaus, Aniceto Massferrer, Jose María Beneyto, Paloma Durán y Lalaguna, Carlos Petit, Alberto de la Hera.


Introduction Rafael Domingo and Javier Martínez-Torrón
1. Isidore of Seville Philip Reynolds
2. Raymond of Penyafort José Miguel Viejo-Ximénez
3. Alfonso X Joseph F. O'Callaghan
4. Francisco de Vitoria Andreas Wagner
5. Bartolomé de Las Casas Kenneth Pennington
6. Martín de Azpilcueta Wim Decok
7 Domingo de Soto Benjamin Hill
8. Fernando Vázquez de Menchaca Salvador Rus
9. Diego de Covarrubias y Leiva Richard Helmholz
10 Luis de Molina Kirk R. MacGregor
11. Francisco Suárez Henrik Lagerlung
12. Tomás Sánchez Rafael Domingo
13. Juan Solórzano Pereira Matthew C. Mirow
14. Gaspar Melchor de Jovellanos Jan-Henrik Witthaus
15. Francisco Martínez Marina Aniceto Massferrer
16. Juan Donoso Cortés Jose María Beneyto
17. Concepción Arenal Paloma Durán y Lalaguna
18. Manuel Alonso Martínez Carlos Petit
19. Álvaro d'Ors Rafael Domingo
20. Pedro Lombardía Alberto de la Hera and Javier Martínez-Torrón

Cambridge Studies in Law and Christianity  £ 84.99


Conférence des Doyens
Université numérique juridique Francophone
Avec le soutien du Ministère de l'Enseignement supérieur, de la Recherche et de l'Innovation.
Copyright © 2020 Portail Universitaire du droit - Tous droits réservés
Une réalisation Consultech