CONFERENCE

THE REPORT OF THE GROUP OF TWELVE: A FRANCO-GERMAN REFLECTION ON THE FUTURE OF EU INSTITUTIONS

BRUGES CAMPUS
DIJVER 11, ROOM E
19-20 OCTOBER 2023





PROGRAMME



Thursday 19 October 2023

20.00: Dinner (for speakers only)

Friday 20 October 2023

9.00-9.30

Welcome / Coffee

9.30-12.30

First session - Chair: Karine Caunes

9.30-9.50

Opening: **Federica Mogherini**, Rector of the College of Europe

9.50-10.10

Presentation of the Report, Olivier

Costa and Daniela Schwarzer

10.10-10.30

General comments, **Students** of the Department of European Political and Governance Studies

10.30-10.50

Protecting the Rule of Law, Gaëlle Marti

and Thu Nguyen

Discussant: Inge Govaere

10.50-11.10

Size and organization of the European

Commission, Sophia Russack and

Christine Verger

Discussant: Manuel Szapiro

11.10-11.30

Moving towards more Qualified Majority

Voting, Nicolai von Ondarza and Shahin

Vallée

Discussant: Jean-Paul Jacqué

11.30-11.50

Coffee break









11.50-12.10

Enhancing EU Democracy, Christine

Verger and Sophia Russack

Discussant: Olivier Rozenberg

12.10-12.30

Promoting probity and transparency,

Olivier Costa

Discussant: Alberto Alemanno

12.30-14.00

Lunch break

14.00-17.30

Second Session: Chair - Olivier Costa

14.00-14.20

EU Powers and Competences, Franz

Mayer and Nicolaï von Ondarza

Discussant: Ségolène Barbou des

Places

14.20-14.40

EU Resources, Thu Nguyen and Shahin

Vallée

Discussant : Anne Vitrey

14.40-15.00

Options for Treaty change, Franz Mayer,

Pervenche Bérès and Gaëlle Marti

Discussant: Dominique Ritleng

15.00-15.20

Coffee break

15.20-15.40

Towards more Differentiation, Daniela

Schwarzer and Funda Tekin

Discussant: Teuta Vodo

15.40-16.00

Managing the Enlargement Process,

Pervenche Berès and Funda Tekin

Discussant: Pierre Mirel

16.00-16.20

Perspectives for the European Political

Community, Gilles Gressani

Discussant: Erwan Lannon

16.20-17.00

Round-table: What's next?

Chair: Gaëlle Marti

Alberto Alemanno, Ségolène Barbou des Places, Inge Govaere, Jean-Paul Jacqué, Erwan Lannon, Pierre Mirel, Dominique Ritleng, Olivier Rozenberg, Manuel Szapiro, Anne Vitrey and Teuta Vodo



l'Union européenne





LIST OF SPEAKERS



- Alberto Alemanno, Professor of EU Law, HEC, Paris
- Ségolène Barbou des Places, Professor of EU
 Law, Université Paris 1
- Pervenche Berès, Member of the Board, Fondation Jean Jaurès, Paris
- Karine Caunes, Editor, European Law Journal
- Michele Chang, Professor, Director of the Master in Transatlantic Affairs, College of Europe, Bruges
- Olivier Costa, Director of European Political and Governance Studies, College of Europe, Bruges / CNRS Research Professor, CEVIPOF, Sciences Po, Paris
- Inge Govaere, Director of the European Legal Studies Department, College of Europe, Bruges / Professor of European Law, Ghent University
- Gilles Gressani, President of the Group of Geopolitical Studies (GEG), Director of Le Grand Continent, Paris
- Jean-Paul Jacqué, Emeritus Professor of EU Law, University of Strasbourg / Honorary Director General, Council of the EU
- Erwan Lannon, Professor of European Law at Ghent University.
- Gaëlle Marti, Professor of Public Law at Université Lyon 3, Jean Monnet Chair, Director of the Center for European Studies
- Franz Mayer, Professor for Public Law, European Law, Public International Law, Comparative Law, and Legal Policy, Universität Bielefeld
- Pierre Mirel, Former Director European Commission, Enlargement 1990-2013
- Federica Mogherini, Rector of the College of Europe

- Thu Nguyen, Senior Policy Fellow for EU Institutions and Democracy, Jacques Delors Centre, Hertie School, Berlin
- Nicolai von Ondarza, Head of Research Division EU/Europe, German Institute for International and Security Affairs (SWP), Berlin
- Dominique Ritleng, Professor of EU Law, Université de Strasbourg
- Olivier Rozenberg, Associate Professor, Sciences-Po, Paris
- Sophia Russack, Researcher, Centre for European Policies Studies (CEPS), Brussels
- Daniela Schwarzer (Rapporteur), Member of the Executive Board, Bertelsmann Stiftung, Berlin / Honorary Professor, Freie Universität Berlin
- Manuel Szapiro, Director of the European Commission Representation in Barcelona
- Funda Tekin, Director at the Institut für Europäische Politik (IEP) / Honorary Professor, Universität Tübingen
- Shahin Vallée, Senior Fellow, Centre for Geopolitics, Geoeconomics, and Technology, German Council on Foreign Relations (DGAP), Berlin
- Christine Verger, Vice President, Jacques Delors Institute, Paris
- Anne Vitrey, Visiting Professor, College of Europe, Bruges / Former Director for Budgetary Affairs, European Parliament
- Teuta Vodo, Associate Professor, Université Paris Cité / Lecturer, Sciences Po, Paris









BECOME PART OF THE COLLEGE NETWORK COLEUROPE.EU/SOCIALHUB















COLEUROPE.EU



